IMA Twelfth IMA International Conference on Cryptography and Coding
Call for Papers
Venue/Travel Info
Programme Committee
Invited Speakers

15th - 17th December 2009 Royal Agricultural College, Cirencester, UK


The mathematical theory and practice of cryptography and coding theory underpins the provision of effective security and reliability for data communication, processing and storage. Theoretical and practical advances in the fields of cryptography and coding theory are therefore a key factor in facilitating the growth of data communications and data networks of various types. Thus, this Twelfth International Conference in an established and successful IMA series on the theme of "Cryptography and Coding" is both timely and relevant.

Invited Speakers (confirmed)

  • Professor Ronald Cramer,

    Mathematical Institute, Leiden University Head of the Cryptology and Information Security Research Group, CWI, The Netherlands - homepage.

    Title: Torsion-Limits for Towers of Algebraic Function Fields and Special Codes in Secure Computation and Complexity. Abstract

    Prof. Ronald Cramer has held positions at CWI, ETH Zurich, and Aarhus, and is currently head of the Cryptology and Information Security Research Group at CWI, aswell as being a full professor at the Mathematical Institute at Leiden University. He has obtained the KNAW Christiaan Huygens award and the NWO VICI award, and is an elected Junior Member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences

  • Professor Frank R. Kschischang,

    Canada Research Chair in Communication Algorithms, Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Toronto, Canada - homepage.

    Title: Subspace Codes Abstract

    Prof. Frank R. Kschischang has held positions at University of Toronto since 1991, and is currently a full professor there. His research interests are in the area of digital communications with application to wireless communication, free-space optical communication, fibre-optic communication, powerline communication, digital subscriber lines, information distribution over the Internet, etc. He has numerous awards including Ontario Premier's Research Excellence award, and he was made Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada in 2006 for "significant contributions to engineering in Canada".

  • Professor Dr. Alexander Pott,

    Faculty of Mathematics, Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg, Germany - homepage.

    Title: (Almost) perfect nonlinear functions in cryptography and geometry Abstract

    Prof. Dr. Alexander Pott studied mathematics at the University of Giessen. He held positions at the universities of Giessen, Dayton (Ohio), Augsburg, Duisburg and Magdeburg, where he is currently the head of the Institute of Algebra and Geometry. Dr. Pott works on problems in geometry which have an impact in coding theory and cryptography. He is the author of more than 60 research papers, and the editor of several conference proceedings.

    This event will meet the requirements of the IMA Continuing Professional Development Scheme.

    The conference proceedings will be published in a leading journal/LNCS. .

    Important Dates:
    Submissison deadline PASSED
    Acceptance notification PASSED
    Proceedings version Deadline PASSED
    conference December 15-17, 2009

    Programme Committee

    • Dr. Steve Babbage C.Math. FIMA (Vodafone Group Services Ltd)
    • Prof. Pascale Charpin (INRIA Rocquencourt)
    • Dr. Liqun Chen (Hewlett-Packard)
    • Dr. Carlos Cid (Royal Holloway, University of London)
    • Prof. Gary McGuire (University College Dublin)
    • Prof. Alfred Menezes (University of Waterloo)
    • Prof. David Naccache (Ecole Normale Superieure)
    • Dr. Matt Robshaw (France Telecom)
    • Dr. Ana Salagean (Loughborough University)
    • Dr. Michael Scott (Dublin City University)
    • Prof. Amin Shokrollahi (EPFL, Lausanne)
    • Dr. Frederick Vercauteren (K. U. Leuven)
    • Prof. Gilles Zemor (University of Bordeaux)
    • Dr. Guilin Wang (University of Birmingham)
    • Prof. Tuvi Etzion (Technion)
    • Prof. Patrick Sole (Sophia Antipolis Nice)
    • Dr Mohammed Benaissa (University of Sheffield)
    • Prof. Kyeongcheol Yang (Pohang University of Science and Technology)
    • Prof. Jon-Lark Kim (University of Louisville)
    • Dr. Gohar Kyureghyan (University of Magdeburg)
    • Dr. H. G. Schaathun (University of Surrey)
    • Prof. Matthew G. Parker (University of Bergen) (Programme Chair)
    Steering Committee:
    • Prof. Bahram Honary C.Math. FIMA (Lancaster University)
    • Prof. Chris Mitchell C.Math. FIMA (Royal Holloway, University of London),
    • Prof. Kenny Paterson FIMA (Royal Holloway, University of London)
    • Prof. Fred Piper C.Math. FIMA (Royal Holloway, University of London)
    • Prof. Nigel Smart (University of Bristol)
    • Prof. Steven Galbraith (Royal Holloway, University of London),

Last updated: September 29, 2009